Knots

17 10 2011

Many times we stumble through life and find inspiration in places we don’t expect it.  This is a beautiful inspirational prayer that Kitten brought home from work with her today.  It was given to her by a rather eclectic man but one strong in his beliefs and today she was touched and shared it with me.  So today I share it with you and thanks goes out to Buster.

The Knot Prayer

Dear God:

Please untie the knots that are in my mind, my heart and my life;  Remove the have nots the cannot, and the do nots that I have in my mind.  Erase the will nots, may nots and might nots that may find a home in my heart.  Release me from the could nots, would nots and should nots that obstruct my life.  And most of all, Dear God I ask that you remove from my mind, my heart, and my life all the am nots that I have allowed to hold me back.

In Jesus name Amen.

We find inspiration in all different places.  In people, places and things.  I feel it most mornings this time of year when I cross the Tittabawasee River each morning as the sun shines over the water and reflects the autumn colors on the water.  I find the inspiration in the positive words of a  co-worker who is going through a difficult time.  I find it in the eyes of my wife and daughter as they gaze at me lovingly.  I find it in the wind, the sun and all the wonder that surrounds us.

I hope you all find a Buster to brighten your world today.

Actions

Information

4 responses

17 10 2011
jrhillma

Nice, Matt. I wonder if the figure-of-eight (stopper) knot was intentional, as a sort of visual metaphor.

18 10 2011
mdprincing

John,
I didn’t even think of the type of knot when I chose the image but now that I think of it….makes you think

18 10 2011
jrhillma

It did make me think, which is why I asked. It works well in the context of your post. Without waxing too philosophical, the stopping power it has on a running line belies the simplicity with which it is tied. Rather like the knots we tie so easily in our minds, hearts and lives…easily accomplished, outsized effect.

Thanks for sharing such a thought-provoking post.

18 10 2011
Lisa Swenson Fahey

Thank you for sharing my friend! This rings all too true for each of us.

Leave a Reply

