KNOCK, KNOCK….who is it?

3 11 2011

Somebody’s knocking at the door, somebody’s ringing the bell.  Somebody’s knocking at the door, somebody’s ringing the bell.  Do me a favor, open the door and let them in.   -Paul McCartney

 

Knock, Knock…who is it I wonder?  (creaking of my door opening) Why it’s Chicken Little, duh.   Of course it is, the sky must be falling because Kim Kardasshian (note the spelling this how much she means to me) is in the news again.

I stumble out of bed at 5:30 am.  I shuffle into my well-worn slippers, shrug on my Chargers (Valley Lutheran not San Diego) sweat shirt and Sparty fuzzies.  One step, shuffle, trip over Lucy, grumble, get bounced on by Sam in my mine field like trek to the coffee pot.  I am ever on alert for stray toys (Lucy, again) that present shuffle hazards while I pour a man’s cup of morning Java with white chocolate and caramel creme, good morning beautiful.  My internal GPS has a route that takes me around the dining room and to the comfort of the couch so that I can absorb the morning news, you know important events that have occurred around the world in the realms of business, government, education, sports, events, religion, charities and other causes.  This is my time, no one to talk to just listening so that I am aware of the world around me and can discuss later if I choose with some intelligence (term loosely attached to todays media).

Somebody’s knockin, should I let him in?  Lord it’s the devil, would you look at him.  I heard about him but I never dreamed, he’d have blue eyes and blue jeans.  -Terri Gibbs

This morning is different.  This marks day two of her in the news.  Her being Kim Kardasssian(again, I don’t care about the spelling).  More specifically her woe is  me I’m getting divorced from some NBA shmuck after 72 days whine.  She says she married for love (cough, choke, muffled expletive that starts with bull).  In her infinite wisdom(?, followed by chuckles heard round the world) she said she had to follow her heart in this divorce, I guess she was following her pants in the marriage?

Back to the point.  I don’t care.  This is not news.  This does not belong on my morning news program, it belongs on Entertainment Tonight.  I will most likely switch channels in the morning news realm, however I am afraid the others will cover it too.  Why?

How does this news affect me (with the exception of pissing me off in the morning)?  How does it affect my town, state, country and world?  Is it somehow related to a break through in science or medicine?  Is it related to a Nobel Prize (this has been questionable lately)?  Does it somehow effect schools, churches, charities or local business?  How is it deemed news worthy by so-called journalists?

Gone are the days of the journalist I fear.  They have been replaced by gossip columnists.  Scare tactic reporters who spin countless threads with nothing but bad news and their political agendas.  In the mix would include entertainment and talk shows.  Where have all the journalists gone?  You remember the ones who dug up the good stories, the real stories that affected our lives.  Ones that relished the good news stories but could deliver bad news if it was necessary.

I would trade today’s bunch for Ron, Champ, Brick and Brian from Anchorman.  Oh and for you famous professional athletes who read my rants ( you know who you are), if you see Kim K coming your way remember the infamous words of Forrest Gump’s momma, “RUN (insert name), Run (insert name)”!


Actions

Information

One response

3 11 2011
Brent

You stole my next blog post :). Exactly why I hardly watch the news (term used loosely) anymore. My routine is very similar except I fire up the laptop and start surfing to get my news.

Leave a comment