She’s gone…

24 04 2012

Everybody’s high on consolation Everybody’s trying to tell me what’s right for me My daddy tried to bore me with a sermon but it’s plain to see that they can’t comfort me

I knew the first time I saw her, I thought she was beautiful.  I had no idea how she would impact my life, I had no idea she would ever be in my life and now she’s gone.

She’s Gone Oh I, Oh I’d better learn how to face it She’s Gone Oh I, Oh I’d pay the devil to replace her

I don’t recall how old I was but I remember vividly where I was.  She came into the yacht club like a Carly Simon song and took my breath away.  I didn’t know how but deep inside of me I knew I wanted her to be mine.  Right, wrong or indifferent.

I got to know her pretty well.  A little joy a little fun a little seasons in the sun, we shared some beers and some enjoyable days on the water.  It was like a scene from Fatal Attractionexcept no rabbit died and there was no huge drama…ok nothing like that but the attraction was there.  I would find reasons to spend more time with her, reasons that I thought were justifiable. My wife at the time didn’t care for her, as you can imagine.  My daughter was indifferent.  My friends thought she was a hoot.  She came between us at home and may have been one of the causes of the end of one part of my life and the first steps of the new.

She stayed with me, never wavered.  She became a focal point when I was alone and it was just Sydney and I.  They grew to love each other and beckon to spend time together.  She openly welcomed Jenny when she entered our lives and Jenny cautiously allowed her into her heart.  She was a huge part of our rebuilding of lives and we built many memories together.

She leaves much as she entered our lives

But now she’s gone.  She caught the attraction of another man.  I always knew she would, she is beautiful.  I denied the inevitable for a couple of years but came to the realization that eventually she would leave us and she did.  She exited our lives very much like she entered it, with class, charm and beauty.

They say and inanimate object can not emit emotions.  Whomever “they” are has never owned a sailboat.  “They” have never had a passion and love of sailing and the water.   I have had times in my life where I gasped at the site of a classic or stood in awe of the sleekist new race machine or completely fell in love like a fool when she entered my life.

Lyrics are by Hall and Oates in a song written by Darryl Hall about his divorce and first recorded in 1973.  It was called She’s Gone.

In happier times

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 04 2012
Syacey Wistehuff

That is aweful. Now I will cry because I still miss Shiloh after two and a half years. My deepest sympathies. Mans best friend doesn’t even begin to describe the feelings I have for my dogs.

24 04 2012
Dale Lieffers

Most trade up to something larger. Do you have one picked out? Excitement of the new, and comfort of the old.

Leave a Reply

