Blink….

6 06 2014

Where did it go?  Time, where did it go.  Seems like yesterday, the blink of an eye.

Freeland, MI September 2006.

Sydney 6 years old AMI“My belly hurts Daddy” moaned Sydney on the big morning of her first day of grade school.  This was the common reaction to a nervous moment in the life of a beautiful budding 6-year-old.  She was barely waist high, cute chubby cheeks, a smile with some missing teeth and still small enough to throw over your shoulder at a moments notice.

We were dressed and ready for school.  Typical for big moments in her life, I had a lump in my throat and honestly my belly hurt a little too, but I kept that to myself.  Off to the big time, all day school, first grade, new adventures.  Hemlock Elementary School, ready or not here we come.  At the schools door kiss kiss, “I love you Daddy”.

 

Sydney first day 2nd grade

 

 

BLINK

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sydney 8th grade jock

Hemlock, MI June 2014.

“I can’ believe your this old” moaned Daddy(Me).  She just shrugged her shoulders “It happens” she said.  Smart kid.  “It went too fast” I replied.  This was the common reaction to a nervous moment in the life of father who doesn’t want his little girl to grow up so fast.  She’s taller than her mother and sister now, long limbs like her father, the beautiful smile of a young lady and I have to put some real effort into throwing her over my shoulder without throwing out my back.

 

We were dressed and ready for school.  Typical for big moments in her life, I had a lump in my throat and a bit of sadness in my
heart(ok pity for myself because my little girl is growing up), but I kept that to myself.  Off to the big time, last day of middle school.  She is receiving an award Sydney Confrimationfrom the school according to the letter we received.  Last day of Hemlock Schools as her next adventure takes her to Valley Lutheran High School.

“Love your buds today ok”? I whisper as the bus approaches, whispered so I don’t choke up.  “Make sure they know this isn’t an end but a new beginning” I try to sound so assuring “we will see lots of them over the summer”.  My big girl’s choice to change schools leaves many questions about staying in touch with her friends from 8 years of school.  A day of mixed emotions I am sure.  As the bus approaches “I love you kid” again whispered, “Love you too Daddy” my princess replies.
8 Years…in the blink of an eye.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

